Search This Blog

Sunday, October 21, 2018

A Crafter Knits a Clue



A Crafter Knits a Clue: A Handcrafted Mystery
by Holly Quinn


About the Book


A Crafter Knits a Clue: A Handcrafted Mystery
NEW COZY MYSTERY SERIES
SET IN WISCONSIN
Crooked Lane Books (October 9, 2018)
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 1683317718
ISBN-13: 978-1683317715
Digital ASIN: B078LZ5ZM5

For fans of Betty Hechtman and Maggie Sefton, the latest craft frenzy is Holly Quinn’s Handcrafted series debut.
Sammy Kane just moved back to her hometown to run a craft store. But when the owner of a nearby yarn shop is murdered, Sammy will needle little help finding the killer.
When a heartbroken Samantha “Sammy” Kane returns to her hometown of Heartsford, WI, for her best friend Kate’s funeral, she learns that Kate’s much-loved craft store is in danger of perishing with its owner. Confounding all her expectations of the life she would live, Sammy moves back home with her golden retriever and takes over Community Craft. A few doors down Main Street, fellow new arrival Ingrid Wilson has just opened the Yarn Barn, a real “purl” of a shop. But when Sammy strolls over to see if Ingrid could use a little help, she finds Ingrid’s dead body—with a green aluminum knitting needle lodged in her throat.
Detective Liam Nash is thrown for a loop as every single citizen of Heartsford seems to have a theory about Ingrid’s murder. And nearly everyone in town seems to be a suspect. But the last time Sammy did any sleuthing was as a little moppet. And this is not fun and games. Sammy is eager to help the handsome Liam—who seems to be endlessly inventive in finding reasons to talk with her—and when Liam arrests affable woodworker Miles Danbury, Sammy puts everything on the line to help clear Miles.
As the case comes dangerously close to unraveling, Sammy must stitch the clues together. But the killer has other plans—and if Sammy’s not careful, she may wind up in a perilous knot in A Crafter Knits a Clue, the first warm and woolly yarn of Holly Quinn’s new Handcrafted mysteries.

What I Thought :

I enjoyed this book which is the first in the Handcrafted Mystery series.  Holly Quinn is a new to me author and I enjoyed her writing style.  In this one, Samantha "Sammy" has come returned home to attend the funeral of her best friend.  She then takes over her friend's craft store.  One day, she goes to a rival craft shop and finds the owner murdered with a knitting needle.  Sammy then becomes a sleuth to solve the murder.  I thought the plot of this book was well thought.  Like I mentioned earlier, the writing style of the author was good and I felt it helped the book to flow well.  The setting was also charming and the authors descriptions of it made me feel that I was very familiar with the town.  The mystery was enhanced by the romantic tension between Sammy and the lead detective in the case, Liam.  There were a lot of twists and turns in this mystery that kept me guessing.  The story finished with a cliffhanger, which makes me really want to read the next book in this series.

I received a complimentary copy of this book.

About the Author



Holly Quinn is both an avid reader and crafter. Holly sells her artistic creations locally and dreamed of one day opening a gift shop to sell local artist’s handiwork. Instead, she began writing about it and thus her journey of the Handcrafted Mystery series was born. Visit her @ www.authorhollyquinn.com

Author Links -

Website - www.authorhollyquinn.com

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/HollyQuinnbooks/

GoodReads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7940795.Holly_Quinn

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Purchase Links
Amazon B&N IndieBound BAM Powell's Walmart BookBub

Sunday, October 14, 2018

A Very Merry Murder




A Very Merry Murder (A Professor Prather Mystery)
by Mary Angela

About the Book


A Very Merry Murder (A Professor Prather Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Camel Press (October 1, 2018)
Paperback: 258 pages
ISBN-10: 1603816550
ISBN-13: 978-1603816557
Digital ASIN: B07G2VLLCV

It’s December in Copper Bluff, and from hillside to hallowed hall, everyone is merry—or will be as soon as semester break arrives. Students are studying, professors are grading, and Emmeline Prather is anticipating the university-sponsored holiday concert. Friend and colleague Lenny Jenkins will be accompanying the visiting quartet, Jazz Underground, and Em can’t think of a better way to kick-start the holiday season.
But before she can say “Jingle Bell Rock,” trouble arrives at Candlelight Inn, the bed and breakfast where the quartet is staying. One of the band members dies unexpectedly, and suspicion falls on Em, whose altercation with the man ends with him on the floor. He never recovers, and now she’s worried her reputation might not either. When Emmeline starts to see parallels between an Agatha Christie novel she’s teaching and the victim, Lenny claims she’s read one too many mysteries.
As the clues unravel, so does the murderer’s patience. Em is close to finding the truth, but will the truth—or the murderer—push her over the edge? It will take a Christmas miracle to solve this case, but if there’s one thing in surplus this time of year, it’s faith.


What I Thought:

This is the third book in the Professor Prather series that I have read.  While it can be read as a stand-alone, I wish I had read the other two in the series.  Emmeline Prather is a professor of a local university and is looking forward to a holiday concert by the Jazz Underground.  One of the band members makes a pass at Emmeline and she pushes him away, he falls to the floor dead.  Emmeline is the prime suspect and needs to clear her name before the holidays.  I thought this was a well written story that kept my attention through-out.  I liked the protagonist and found myself rooting for her all through the book.  I was surprised by the ending, which is what I like in a cozy mystery.

I received a complimentary copy of this book.

About the Author

[caption id="attachment_102470" align="aligncenter" width="200"] © Julie Prairie Photography 2016[/caption]
Mary Angela is the author of the Professor Prather academic mystery series, which has been called “enjoyable” and “clever” by Publishers Weekly. She is also an educator and has taught English and humanities at South Dakota’s public and private universities for over ten years. When Mary isn’t writing or teaching, she enjoys reading, traveling, and spending time with her family.
Author Links

Webpage Blog GoodReads Facebook Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon B&N Kobo

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, October 5, 2018

Threads of Grace




Grace’s beauty almost cost her everything. This new start is all she has left.
When Grace Beiler was only a girl, she was married off to an older Amish man in order to save her family’s farm. Years later, she finds herself newly widowed and a mother to a young son. She has finally fled her sad past and plans to settle into a quiet life in Pennsylvania.
As soon as she arrives, she captures the attention of Seth Wyse, the most eligible bachelor in Pine Creek. Seth is candid about his feelings for her, and for her son Abel, but Grace is determined to protect her heart. Her determination falters when her brother-in-law reveals the troubling contents of her late husband’s will.
Seth offers Grace his hand in marriage, and thus a means of escape. But despite his having saved her from another loveless marriage, Grace is slow to trust her new husband. And as the months wear on, Seth wonders if he has made a mistake. But God is quietly at work in their hearts, and Seth and Grace soon discover that threads of grace bind them together in a tapestry rich in hope and love.


What I Thought:




I enjoyed reading the story of Grace and her son Abel who is autistic.  Grace was married off to save her family farm to a much older man.  He was not good to her, so when he passes, she moves to a small Pennsylvania town.  When her widow’s brother shows up trying to force Grace to marry him, her neighbor Seth, offers to marry her.  This is a story of a marriage of convenience turning into a story of love.  It was well written and the author did a very good job making your help melt over Abel.  The plot was good, but the conflict between the two men in the story ended kind of weirdly.  Overall this was a good read. 


I received a complimentary copy of this book.