Search This Blog

Sunday, November 27, 2016

A Killer Location

a-killer-location-large-banner640




a-killer-location

A Killer Location:
A Home Sweet Home Mystery 

Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Alibi (November 22, 2016)
ASIN: B01AQNZQB8
goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis

As this captivating cozy mystery series featuring real estate agent Sam Turner continues, a dream home turns into a crime scene when murder intrudes on an open house.
Thanks to a few sales and a self-help book on becoming a super-agent, Sam Turner is well on her way to becoming real estate royalty in Arlinda, her eccentric hometown on the Northern California coast. And after settling into her new house with her teenage son, she’s finally a homeowner, too. Sure, things aren’t perfect—for example, her sister still doesn’t know that Sam is dating her ex, police chief Bernie Aguilar—but perfect is boring. And Sam’s life is never boring.
When Sam’s boss, Everett Sweet, assigns her an open house in Arlinda’s most exclusive neighborhood, she brushes up on her super-agent tips, hoping to wow potential buyers. But there’s nothing in the manual about stumbling upon the owner’s dead body halfway through the tour. When suspicion falls on her boss, Sam and her co-workers are suddenly out of work, their real estate licenses suspended. Now, with her job on the line and a mortgage to pay, Sam will need every trick in the book to clear Everett’s name.

What I Thought:

Sam Turner is back in this installment of the Home Sweet Home Mysteries.  In this installment, Sam is showing a house in the most exclusive neighborhood in town when she finds a severed finger, then a body. Her boss, Everett is accused of the murder so Sam has to investigate.  All of this is on top of her sister showing up and camping out at her house.  This was as well written as the first installment with the some of the same characters and a few new ones added in.  This series is set in a great place, also.  This one had some humor besides being a great mystery that kept me guessing till the very end.

I received a complimentary of this book.


SARAH HOBART
About The Author –
Sarah Hobart is a real estate agent and former newspaper reporter in Northern California, where she lives with her husband and two children in a majestic fixer-upper overlooking State Highway 101.
Purchase Links:
Amazon      B&N 

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Cat Got Your Diamond




cat-diamonds-large-banner640









cat-got-your-diamonds-rgb


Cat Got Your Diamonds: A Kitty Couture Mystery

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books (November 15, 2016)
Hardcover: 304 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1629538426
E-Book ASIN: B01H082DOU
goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis

Grandeur and opulence are everything in the famed New Orleans Garden District where pets are family and no bling is too big. Opening Furry Godmother, pet boutique and organic treat bakery, is Lacy Marie Crocker’s dream come true–until the glitter gun used to make her Shih Tzu tutus becomes a murder weapon. And Lacy becomes public enemy #1.
Now Detective Jack Oliver is hounding Lacy, and her Furry Godmother investor wants out before his name is tarnished by association. To make matters worse, a string of jewel heists with suspicious ties to the murder case has New Orleans residents on edge. To save her dream, Lacy must take a stand, put her keen eyes to work, and unravel what really happened at her shop that night. But can Lacy sniff out the killer cat burglar in time to get her tail-raising designs on the catwalk?



What I Thought:

I will admit that the cute kitties on the cover of this book is what drew me in, but then I started reading and was really drawn in by the convincing characters and plot of this book.  Lacy has returned home to New Orleans after a painful breakup with her ex-fiancĂ©. Once home, a kind benefactor loans her the money to open her dream shop, The Furry Godmother, a pet boutique.  One night, Lacy stumbles upon an intruder in her store and sprays that intruder with her glitter gun.  Lo and behold that same intruder ends up murdered, with the glitter gun, and Lacy is the prime suspect.  The writing of this story is superb and the setting and characters are so believable.  I so look forward to more in this series.

I receive a complimentary copy of this book. 


julie
 
 
About The Author
Julie Chase is a mystery-loving pet enthusiast who hopes to make readers smile. She lives in rural Ohio with her husband and three small children. Julie is a member of the International Thriller Writers (ITW) and Sisters in Crime (SinC). She is represented by Jill Marsal of Marsal Lyons Literary Agency. Julie also writes as Julie Anne Lindsey.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JulieChaseAuthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/juliechasebooks
Website: http://juliechasebooks.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14957369.Julie_Chase?from_search=true

Purchase Links:

Amazon     BAM!       IndieBound




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Guest Post


Baking For My Neighbors’ Pets

After spending fifteen years on a rural county road, my family has moved to a literal new neighborhood. I think the oldest home is less than five years old, and the homes on my street are closer to two. My old neighborhood had more livestock than people. This place is crawling with humans. No one rang the bell before. Which was great because being the introvert that I am, the doorbell often triggers my stop, drop and roll behind a couch response. I also never had to wave small children out of my street so I could leave the driveway before. No one played on the county road. (They would have died). It’s definitely a whole new world here. Everything’s completely adorable, and I’m having a bit of culture shock. There are ten houses on our street and thirty-four children. You read that right. Did I mention the culture shock? *slow nod*

Luckily, everyone seems to have a pet. I don’t always know what to say to people, but I’m pretty excited about the pets. I strike up conversations with yard dogs and talk to cats seated in open windows. I know them all by name. I’m still working on the humans. Pets are just easier for me. I never feel as if dogs are judging my awkwardness, and when cats are done with me, they walk away. I can appreciate that. I wish people could do that.

Anyway - As I prepared for the release of Cat Got Your Diamonds, I had a lot of baking to do, and the new neighborhood became my biggest blessing. I needed animals to sample my pupcakes and meow yum yums, but I didn’t have any animals. Quite a predicament for a petless pet writer. Then it him me. I could test my recipes on the neighbors’ pets! Bonus: What a great icebreaker for an introvert like me. People like people who are good to their pets.

It’s as if my new address was destiny.

I immediately began peddling my wares door to door like a girl scout, expect my cookies were free and meant for the fur babies of the house. I learned that the dogs on my road like pupcakes. All dogs. All pupcakes. They liked the bacon and applesauce as well as the banana and peanut butter. Maybe I’m a wizard chef. Maybe dogs aren’t choosey. Who knows? But they gobbled them right up in front of me. Added bonus #2: baking pupcakes made my house smell amazing.

The results were unclear for my meow yum yums. Neighborhood cats mostly squinted and blinked at my offerings. Though, their people told me later that the cats eventually ate the treats. It’s anyone’s guess if the neighbors were lying to be polite, or if it was true. Cats are pickles like that, but I take the fact the felines didn’t upend the trays to my face as hope. Hey, I call all cat attention a success.

For more animal-lover antics and a peek at my yummy (I think) pet recipes, I hope you’ll pick up a copy of Cat Got Your Diamonds. It may not be delicious, but just might make you smile.

 

Cat Got Your Diamonds is book one in the Kitty Couture Mysteries Series published by Crooked Lane books November 2016.

Grandeur and opulence are everything in the famed New Orleans Garden District where pets are family and no bling is too big. Opening Furry Godmother, pet boutique and organic treat bakery, is Lacy Marie Crocker’s dream come true--until the glitter gun used to make her Shih Tzu tutus becomes a murder weapon. And Lacy becomes public enemy #1.

Now Detective Jack Oliver is hounding Lacy, and her Furry Godmother investor wants out before his name is tarnished by association. To make matters worse, a string of jewel heists with suspicious ties to the murder case has New Orleans residents on edge. To save her dream, Lacy must take a stand, put her keen eyes to work, and unravel what really happened at her shop that night. But can Lacy sniff out the killer cat burglar in time to get her tail-raising designs on the catwalk?

Witty and whimsical, Cat Got Your Diamonds, the first in a new cozy series by Julie Chase, will be the cat's meow for fans of Rita Mae Brown and Miranda James.

 

Meet the Author

Julie Chase is a mystery-loving pet enthusiast who hopes to make readers smile. She lives in rural Ohio with her husband and three small children. Julie is a member of the International Thriller Writers (ITW) and Sisters in Crime (SinC). She is represented by Jill Marsal of Marsal Lyons Literary Agency. Julie also writes as Julie Anne Lindsey.

 






Saturday, November 5, 2016

Key to Murder

key-to-a-murder-large-banner640




key_to_a_murder_jpg



Key to a Murder: An Antique Hunters Mystery
4th in Series
Cozy Cat Press (August 12, 2016)
Print Length: 176 pages
ASIN: B01KD97TK6
goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis

A mysterious woman appears on the doorstep of Great Aunt Sybil’s Attic in the middle of the night. Owner Anne Hillstrom lets her in, only to have the woman die in her arms. With no final words, and only an old lantern clutched to her chest, the dead woman provides Anne and her partner CC precious few clues to discover her murderer or why she spent her last moments in their antique store. The two Antique Hunters search for clues, finding themselves entangled in a centuries-old mystery leading them to a cemetery in Ireland where a ghost from the past has left them a cryptic message, and a killer has left them no choice but to discover his identity before he kills again. On their journey, the two best friends encounter antiques, romance and the key to a murder.
What I Thought:

This was an interesting story.  I got my attention and kept it.  I really enjoyed the friendship between Anne and CC, I felt they really had each others back.  This was an intriguing mystery because they did not know the woman who showed up unexpectedly at the door and dies.  Of course, Anne and CC have to figure out the mystery.  This was well written and highly entertaining.  This is the first I read in this series, but I hope to read more.

I received a complimentary copy of this book.


pixel (2)About This Author

With a passion for shopping and antiques, Vicki Vass turned in her reporter’s notebook to chronicle the adventures of Anne and CC, two antique hunters who use their skills to solve a murder case.
Vicki has written more than 1,400 stories for the Chicago Tribune as well as other commercial publications including Home & Away, the Lutheran and Woman’s World. Her science fiction novel, The Lexicon, draws on her experience in Sudan while writing about the ongoing civil war for World Relief.
She lives in the Chicago area with her husband, writer and musician Brian Tedeschi, son Tony, Australian shepherd Bandit, kittens Terra and Pixel, seven koi and Gary the turtle.
Author Links –
Purchase Links – 


a Rafflecopter giveaway